What are the 3 vascular territories?

What are the 3 vascular territories?

Superior cerebellar artery (SCA) the superior vermis. dentate nucleus. most of the cerebellar white matter.

What are the vascular territories of the brain?

The vascular territory of the PCA is depicted in blue. The P1 segment extends from the PCA origin to the posterior communicating artery, contributing to the circle of Willis. Posterior thalamoperforating arteries branch off the P1 segment to supply blood to the midbrain and thalamus.

What causes Circle Willis?

The circle of Willis is a part of the cerebral circulation and is composed of the following arteries: Anterior cerebral artery (left and right) Anterior communicating artery. Internal carotid artery (left and right) Posterior cerebral artery (left and right)

What does the ACA supply?

To summarize, the ACA supplies the medial and superior parts of the frontal lobe, and the anterior parietal lobe.

What is MCA territory?

The middle cerebral artery territory is the most commonly affected territory in a cerebral infarction, due to the size of the territory and the direct flow from the internal carotid artery into the middle cerebral artery, providing the easiest path for thromboembolism.

What cerebral artery is blocked in a stroke?

The middle cerebral artery is the artery most often blocked during a stroke. Figure 1. A stroke is a sudden interruption of the blood supply to the brain. The middle cerebral artery is most often blocked during a stroke.

Which arteries form circle of Willis?

The circle of Willis, or the circulus arteriosus, is formed by the anastomosis of the two internal carotid arteries with the two vertebral arteries.

What does an ACA stroke affect?

Anterior cerebral artery (ACA) occlusions primarily affect frontal lobe function. Findings in ACA stroke may include the following: Disinhibition and speech perseveration. Primitive reflexes (eg, grasping, sucking reflexes) Altered mental status.

What is zona pellucida and corona radiata?

Zona pellucida is the inner layer surrounding the oocyte. It consists of glycoproteins. Corona radiata is made up of multiple layers of granulosa cells, held together by a hyaluronic acid matrix.

Why corona radiata is called so?

The corona radiata is the innermost layer of the cells of the cumulus oophorus and is directly adjacent to the zona pellucida, the inner protective glycoprotein layer of the ovum. Cumulus oophorus are the cells surrounding corona radiata, and are the cells between corona radiata and follicular antrum.