Does Arkansas have a sugar tax?
The tax rate shall be: Soft Drink Syrup – $1.26 per gallon of soft drink or simple syrup….
|Soft Drink Revenue FYE 2018
|Soft Drink Revenue FYE 2019
|Soft Drink Revenue FYE 2020
What is the soft drink tax in Arkansas?
The tax is levied on the sale of soft drink syrup or simple syrup at the rate of $1.26 per gallon, and bottled soft drinks, powders and base products at the rate of 20.6 cents per gallon that may be produced, the state Department of Finance and Administration said in its legislative impact statement on the bill.
What is the sales tax rate on soda and candy in Arkansas?
6.5% State sales and use tax rate to these items. All City and County sales and use tax rates continue to apply on the sale of these items. This Act also applies the total state, city and county sales and use tax to the sale price of specified digital products or a digital code.
What services are exempt from sales tax in Arkansas?
Tax-exempt customers Some customers are exempt from paying sales tax under Arkansas law. Examples include government agencies, some nonprofit organizations, and merchants purchasing goods for resale. Sellers are required to collect a valid exemption or resale certificate from buyers to validate each exempt transaction.
Is Candy taxable in Arkansas?
Arkansas has enacted legislation to exclude candy and soft drinks from the definition of “food and food ingredients.” As a result, candy and soft drinks are subject to the full Arkansas sales and use tax rate instead of the 1.5% reduced rate that applies to food and food ingredients, effective January 1, 2018.
Are digital goods taxable in Arkansas?
Arkansas does not require businesses to collect sales tax on the sale of digital goods or services.
What services are subject to sales tax in Arkansas?
Traditional Goods or Services Goods that are subject to sales tax in Arkansas include physical property, like furniture, home appliances, and motor vehicles. Arkansas charges a 1.5% reduced rate on the purchase of groceries.
What items are tax free in Arkansas?
Clothing less than $100 per item is exempt during the weekend, as well as clothing accessories less than $50 per item. Clothing accessories include handbags, cosmetics, jewelry, umbrellas, and more. Most school supplies, including book bags, binders, paper, crayons, pencils, and rulers, are also exempt.
Are candies taxable?
Candy is food and taxed the same as “food and food ingredients” Ten states generally consider candy to be like any other food, and so generally tax it the same.
Is food subject to sales tax in Arkansas?
Arkansas imposes a 6.5 percent state sales and use tax on certain nonfood items. It imposes a 0.125 percent state reduced food tax on food items. These tax rates, and tax rates on other items such as beer, mixed drinks and liquor, are listed at the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) website.
What constitutes nexus in Arkansas?
Generally, a business has nexus in Arkansas when it has a physical presence there, such as a retail store, warehouse, inventory, or the regular presence of traveling salespeople or representatives.
What products are taxable?
Retail sales of tangible items in California are generally subject to sales tax. Examples include furniture, giftware, toys, antiques and clothing. Some labor service and associated costs are subject to sales tax if they are involved in the creation or manufacturing of new personal property.