How does trample work in magic?

How does trample work in magic?

Trample is a keyword ability that changes the rules for assigning damage in the Combat Damage Step. An attacker with trample deals excess damage to the defending player or planeswalker even if it is blocked. Trample is primary placed in green on the color wheel, but red’s share has been growing over time.

Does trample bypass indestructible?

Indestructible creatures still get assigned damage, so the rest can still trample through.

Does trample go through each blocker?

If you’re blocking an opponent’s creature with trample with your own creature that also has trample, they don’t cancel each other out. If the attacker’s creature has more power than your blocker, trample still applies and you will take the excess damage.

Does trample work while defending?

No. Trample only works for attacking creatures.

Does trample apply to first strike?

In the first phase, only creatures with first strike and double strike deal damage, and in the second, only creatures without first strike deal damage. When a creature in combat has trample, all damage past what is necessary to deal lethal damage to all blockers is dealt directly to the defending player.

Does protection stop trample?

Yes. If you attack with 7/7 green creature with trample, and they block with a 2/2 protection from green creature, it will assign damage equal to that creature’s toughness (2) to the creature, and the other 5 will trample over to the player.

Does trample go through double strike?

Trample also works well with double strike – an ability that allows creatures to deal twice as much damage during combat. Creatures with double strike deal damage during the first strike damage step and the regular damage step.

What happens if a creature has first strike and trample?

Your question has already been answered on this thread: In order to assign any damage to the defending player, the attacker with trample must first assign lethal damage to all its blockers, where lethal damage is damage that meets or exceeds the blocker’s toughness.

How does death touch work with trample?

All damage in the combat damage step is dealt simultaneously. Trample means that damage in excess of lethal damage dealt to blockers is carried over to the defending player or planeswalker they control. Deathtouch means that any amount of damage assigned to a creature is lethal damage.