What are the provinces of France called?

What are the provinces of France called?

Regions of France between 2011 and 2015

Region French name Capital
Lorraine Lorraine Metz
Lower Normandy Basse-Normandie Caen
Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées Toulouse
Nord-Pas-de-Calais Nord-Pas-de-Calais Lille

How many provinces are in France?

This page provides summary descriptions of France’s 22 provincial regions, listing geographic size, population figures, administrative capitals, and brief information on resources and economy.

Is Paris a state or province?

Country France
Region Île-de-France
Department Paris
Intercommunality Métropole du Grand Paris

What state or province is France in?

France State Codes

State Name Abbreviation
Nouvelle-Aquitaine NAQ
Occitanie OCC
Pays de la Loire PDL
Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur PAC

How many state are in France?

France has 27 local authority states and various overseas territories from throughout the history of the French empire. One such example is French Guiana in South America. To learn more about each individual state, click the maps of the states below.

Which province is Lyon in?


Lyon Liyon (Arpitan)
Country France
Region Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
Metropolis Lyon Metropolis
Arrondissement Lyon

What are the French provinces in Canada?

The provinces of Québec and New Brunswick are both official francophone areas, however, there are many more areas in Canada where French is spoken even though it is not one of the governmentally-recognized official languages. Ontario is one such area that has a large population of francophones.

Is Île-de-France a province?

The Île-de-France is a province of France encompassing the north-central departments of Val-d’Oise, Seine-et-Marne, Seine-Saint-Denis, Ville-de-Paris, Hauts-de-Seine, Val-de-Marne, Essonne, and Yvelines.

What province is London?

United Kingdom Provinces

Country Field Value Valid Field Value Province Name
United Kingdom LIN Lincolnshire
United Kingdom LBC Lisburn and Castlereagh
United Kingdom LIV Liverpool
United Kingdom LND London, City of

What are 3 cities in France?

French Cities

  • Paris. Searchable map and information about the city of Paris.
  • Bordeaux. Searchable map and information about the city of Bordeaux.
  • Cannes. Searchable map and information about the city of Cannes.
  • Lille. Searchable map and information about the city of Lille.
  • Lyon.
  • Marseille.
  • Montpellier.
  • Nantes.

What are 5 French cities?