What are the 4 types of earthquake faults?

What are the 4 types of earthquake faults?

There are four types of faulting — normal, reverse, strike-slip, and oblique. A normal fault is one in which the rocks above the fault plane, or hanging wall, move down relative to the rocks below the fault plane, or footwall.

What are the 3 types of earthquake faults?

There are three main types of fault which can cause earthquakes: normal, reverse (thrust) and strike-slip. Figure 1 shows the types of faults that can cause earthquakes. Figures 2 and 3 show the location of large earthquakes over the past few decades.

What are the 3 types of stress related to faults?

The sense of stress determines the type of fault that forms, and we usually categorize that sense of stress in three different ways:

  • compression,
  • tension, and.
  • shear.

What does fault mean in earthquakes?

A fault is a fracture or zone of fractures between two blocks of rock. Faults allow the blocks to move relative to each other. This movement may occur rapidly, in the form of an earthquake – or may occur slowly, in the form of creep.

What are the three types of faults and explain?

Three types of faults Strike-slip faults indicate rocks are sliding past each other horizontally, with little to no vertical movement. Both the San Andreas and Anatolian Faults are strike-slip. Normal faults create space. Two blocks of crust pull apart, stretching the crust into a valley.

What is compression fault?

In geology, the term compression refers to a set of stress directed toward the center of a rock mass. This fault motion is caused by compressional forces and results in shortening. Answer: Compressional stress, meaning rocks pushing into each other, creates a reverse fault. They are common at convergent boundaries.

What is a tension fault?

a fracture in the earth’s crust caused by tension; the rocks that are separated simply move apart and experience no other relative displacement.

What is fault and types of fault?

Fault Types. Fault is a fracture or crack where two rock blocks slide past one to another. If this movement may occur rapidly, it can be causes earthquike or slowly, in the form of creep. Types of faults include strike-slip faults, normal faults, reverse faults, thrust faults, and oblique-slip faults.

How do fault produce earthquake?

Earthquakes are the result of sudden movement along faults within the Earth. The movement releases stored-up ‘elastic strain’ energy in the form of seismic waves, which propagate through the Earth and cause the ground surface to shake.

In which type of fault can earthquake occur?

Earthquakes occur on faults – strike-slip earthquakes occur on strike-slip faults, normal earthquakes occur on normal faults, and thrust earthquakes occur on reverse or thrust faults. When an earthquake occurs on one of these faults, the rock on one side of the fault slips with respect to the other.