What is CAP proficiency testing?

What is CAP proficiency testing?

The CAP’s PT program has grown to include all areas of the clinical laboratory. The CAP’s PT menu has expanded from traditional clinical pathology disciplines into anatomic pathology and molecular testing; the CAP’s PT assesses preanalytic and postanalytic processes as well as the analytic phase of testing.

What is cap in quality control?

Conducting the College of American Pathologists (CAP) Proficiency Testing (PT)/External Quality Assessment (EQA) for all patient reportable tests demonstrates a commitment to quality improvement and provides an excellent tool for learning and competency assessment.

What is CAP accreditation?

The CAP accredits laboratories performing testing on specimens from human beings or animals, using methodologies and clinical application within the expertise of the program. Laboratories must be appropriately licensed to perform testing when required by law.

What is CLIA proficiency testing?

Proficiency testing, or PT, is the testing of unknown samples sent to a laboratory by an HHS-approved PT program. Most sets of PT samples are sent to participating laboratories on a scheduled basis (usually three times per year). After testing, the laboratory reports its sample results back to their PT program.

What are the three levels of CLIA testing?

Current Regulation: CLIA established three categories of tests: waived tests, moderate complexity tests, and high complexity tests.

How do you get CAP accreditation?


  1. Apply for Accreditation. Download and submit our accreditation program request form to initiate the accreditation process.
  2. Request Information. Submit a fee estimate form to receive more information about cost and next steps to become CAP accredited.
  3. For Accreditation Participants.

What is the meaning of nabl?

National Accreditation Board for Testing and Calibration Laboratories (NABL) is a Constituent Board of Quality Council of India.

What is Cap vs CLIA?

Within its explanation of calibration verification, CLIA uses reporting range when referring to the span of test result values over which the lab can establish or verify the accuracy of the instrument or test system. CAP uses analytical measurement range (AMR) to describe the range of analyte values measured.

How do you pass a cap inspection?

5 tips for surviving a CAP inspection

  1. Know Your Checklists. One of the most important steps in preparing for a CAP inspection is to make sure you are using the correct version of the CAP checklists.
  2. Revisit the Past.
  3. Organize Stuff and Staff.
  4. Remain Calm.
  5. Be Present and Accountable.

Does cap require proficiency testing for waived tests?

Beginning in 2017, proficiency testing for waived whole blood glucose on glucose meters will no longer be required for laboratories accredited by the CAP. Take a moment to review the resources below to learn about this new requirement.

What are the four levels of CLIA complexity?

The FDA categorizes diagnostic tests by their complexity—from the least to the most complex: waived tests, moderate complexity tests, and high complexity tests.