What is the Maurice Richard Trophy?

What is the Maurice Richard Trophy?

The Maurice Richard Trophy is an annual award “presented to the player finishing the regular season as the League’s goal-scoring leader” by the NHL Board of Governors. The trophy, officially unveiled on Jan. 24, 1999, was a gift to the NHL from the Montreal Canadiens.

Why is it called the Rocket Richard Trophy?

The Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy, also known as the Rocket Richard Trophy, is awarded annually to the leading goal scorer in the National Hockey League (NHL). It was donated to the NHL by the Montreal Canadiens in 1998–99 and is named in honour of legendary Montreal Canadiens right winger Maurice “Rocket” Richard.

How many rocket Richards Would Gretzky have?

five Rocket Richard Trophies
How Many Rocket Richard Trophies Would Wayne Gretzky Have? During the many seasons that Gretzky led the NHL in goals, he would have five Rocket Richard Trophies.

When did the Rocket Richard Trophy come out?

The Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy was added to the NHL’s awards for individual excellence in 1999. It is awarded each year to the league’s top goal scorer during the regular season.

Who has the most Maurice Richard trophies?

Alex Ovechkin
The most Maurice Richard Trophies won by an ice hockey player is 9, achieved by Alex Ovechkin (Russian Federation) for the Washington Capitals in 2008, 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019, and 2020. He secured his ninth trophy during the 2019/20 season, when he finished with 48 goals.

Has Sidney Crosby ever won the Rocket Richard Trophy?

Sidney Crosby added more hardware to his mantle Sunday, winning his second Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the NHL’s top goal-scorer with the conclusion of the 2016-17 regular sason.

What was the Rocket Richard Trophy before?

Maurice Richard Trophy — History Maurice “Rocket” Richard was born in Montreal in 1921. He played 18 seasons, all for the Montreal Canadiens. He was a First Team All-Star eight times, Second Team All-Star six times, and a Hart Trophy winner in 1946-47.

Who is the only defenseman to have won the NHL scoring title?

Orr is the only defenseman to win the scoring title, doing so in 1970 and 1975 with Boston, and in 1970 he became the first player to capture four individual awards in a single season as he won the Hart, Norris, and Conn Smythe Trophies that year as well.

Who has the most assists in NHL history?

Wayne Gretzky
NHL History – Assists Leaders

Assists Leaders
1 Wayne Gretzky 1,963
2 Ron Francis 1,249
3 Mark Messier 1,193