Who has won the Brownlow 3 times?

Who has won the Brownlow 3 times?

Only four players in the history of the League have won three Brownlow medals. They are Haydn Bunton (Fitzroy), Dick Reynolds (Essendon), Bob Skilton (South Melbourne) and Ian Stewart (St Kilda and Richmond). Another eight players have won two Brownlows.

What club has won the most brownlows?

Brownlow Medal Wins By Club

  • South Melbourne/Sydney 14.
  • St Kilda 10.
  • Footscray/Western Bulldogs 10.
  • Collingwood 9.
  • Essendon 8.
  • Fitzroy 8.
  • Geelong 7.
  • Melbourne 7.

Who has won the Brownlow twice?

Ivor Warne-Smith ultimately retired as a player at the end of the 1932 season. He had 146 games to his credit, and 110 goals. But he had more than that – two time winner of the Brownlow Medal, he was one of the game’s highest ever achievers.

Who is the youngest person to win a Brownlow?

Wanganeen was the first Aboriginal player to win the Brownlow Medal in the history of the award, and, at age 20, he was the youngest winner since Denis Ryan in 1936….

1993 Brownlow Medal
Winner Gavin Wanganeen (Essendon) 18 votes
Television/radio coverage
Network Seven Network
← 1992 Brownlow Medal 1994 →

Has a Backman won a Brownlow?

It is 27 years since a defender, former Essendon and Port Adelaide star Gavin Wanganeen, won the Brownlow.

Who is best AFL player ever?

Leigh Matthews Better still, just one man has won more best and fairest awards than Matthews. Matthews was even named the AFL’s Greatest Player of the 20th Century.

Has anyone won the Brownlow but been suspended?

In 1996, Corey McKernan received the same number of votes as the joint-winners James Hird and Michael Voss. McKernan was suspended for one match during the season for kneeing.

Has a number 1 draft pick ever won a Brownlow?

Adam Cooney, the first pick of the 2003 AFL draft, was the first number one draft pick to be awarded the prestigious Brownlow Medal (in 2008). In the same year, Luke Hodge, the number one pick in 2001, won the Norm Smith Medal with Hawthorn.

Has any AFL player won a Brownlow in their first year?

In winning, Hardie joined the legendary Haydn Bunton Senior as the only players to have won the Brownlow Medal in their first season on VFL football. Hardie followed Graham Moss (1976) and Ross Glendinning (1983) as the West Australians who have won Australian Football’s most prestigious individual playing award.

Who is the toughest AFL player?

Leigh Mathews It is claimed that he is the greatest player of all time but his is contested.