How many Dhammapada gatha are there?

How many Dhammapada gatha are there?

The Pali Dhammapada contains 423 verses in 26 chapters (listed below in Pali and English).

Who has written Dhammapada?

Dhammapada (Easwaran translation)

Author Eknath Easwaran
Publisher Nilgiri
Publication date 1986; 2007; others
Pages 275 (2007)
ISBN 978-1-58638-020-5

How many Nikayas are there?

five Nikāyas
The five Nikāyas are the Dīgha Nikāya (a collection of longer narratives and discourses), Majjhima Nikāya (a collection of middle-length narratives and discourses), Saṃyutta Nikāya (shorter texts arranged thematically), Aṅguttara Nikāya (shorter texts arranged by the number of items mentioned within them), and Khuddaka …

What religion is the Dhammapada?

Dhammapada, (Pali: “Words of Doctrine” or “Way of Truth”) probably the best-known book in the Pali Buddhist canon. It is an anthology of basic Buddhist teachings (primarily ethical teachings) in a simple aphoristic style.

What is the meaning of Anguttara nikaya?

Item-more Collection
Anguttara Nikaya (“Item-more Collection”; Sanskrit Ekottarikagama), a numerical arrangement, for mnemonic purposes, of 9,557 terse suttas. Its first nipata (“group”) contains suttas dealing with single things, such as the mind or the Buddha; the suttas in the second nipata speak of pairs—e.g., 2 kinds of…

What is the meaning of majjhima nikaya?

Collection of Middle-length Discourses
The Buddhist scripture, Majjhima Nikaya, composed between the 3rd century BCE – 2nd century CE, meaning “Collection of Middle-length Discourses”, is the second of the five Nikayas, or collections, in the Sutta Pitaka, which is one of the “three baskets” that compose the Pali Tipitaka of Theravada Buddhism.

Who wrote Sutta Pitaka?

The contents of the Sutta Pitaka are attributed, with few exceptions, to the Gautama Buddha himself. The schools whose works were written in Sanskrit divided this body of literature into four collections, called Agamas.