Where is the headquarters of the ECOWAS based?

Where is the headquarters of the ECOWAS based?

Abuja, Nigeria
*It was in order to realize this vision unimpeded that the ECOWAS administrative machinery based in Abuja, Nigeria, transformed its Secretariat to a Commission in January 2007. The Commission is now headed by a President (In place of what used to be known as Executive Secretary).

Where was the first headquarters of ECOWAS?

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was created by the Treaty of Lagos in Lagos, Nigeria, on May, 28, 1975. It had its roots in earlier attempts at a West African economic community in the 1960s and was spearheaded by Yakuba Gowon of Nigeria and Gnassigbe Eyadema of Togo.

Where is the ECOWAS secretariat situated?

One of the two ECOWAS powerhouses in Abuja, this is the most important ECOWAS structure in the world. As the secretariat of ECOWAS, it houses all personas, diplomats, staff, and activities that work to achieve the goals of the ECOWAS community.

Where was the last ECOWAS meeting held?

The Extraordinary Summit was convened to review the recent political developments in Mali, Guinea and Burkina Faso since the last Extraordinary Summit held on 3rd February 2022 in Accra.

Where is the headquarters of OAU?

Addis Ababa, EthiopiaOrganisation of African Unity / Headquarters location
Organization of African Unity (OAU) Intergovernmental organization. Founded in 1963, it aims to safeguard the interests and independence of all African states, encourage the continent’s development, and settle disputes among member states. Its headquarters are in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Who is the head of ECOWAS in Nigeria?


When was ECOWAS established in Nigeria?

May 1975
Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), African organization established by the Treaty of Lagos in May 1975 to promote economic trade, cooperation, and self-reliance.

When was ECOWAS moved to Abuja?

ECOWAS institutions include a Secretariat–located in Lagos, to be relocated to Abuja in 1998–and a foreign exchange clearinghouse, the West African Monetary Agency, originally located in Freetown, currently in Conakry.

Who is the chairman of ECOWAS in 2021?

How many states are in ECOWAS?

15 members
The 15 members of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

Who built African Union headquarters?

The main building was designed and built by a collaboration of Tongji University, China State Construction Engineering and the China Architecture and Design Research Group, with the US$200 million budget donated by the Chinese government.