Which is an area of land set aside for the protection of wild animals?

Which is an area of land set aside for the protection of wild animals?

Wildlife sanctuaries of India are classified as IUCN Category IV protected areas. Between 1936 and 2016, 551 wildlife sanctuaries were established in the country that cover 118,918 km2 (45,914 sq mi) as of 2020.

What is a conservation area for animals?

Protected areas, like national parks and wildlife refuges, are the cornerstones of global conservation efforts. So making sure they achieve their mission is fundamental to our goal of halting biodiversity declines. Unfortunately, how well protected areas maintain their biodiversity remains poorly understood.

What are protected areas give examples?

Protected areas of India include National parks, Wildlife sanctuaries, biosphere reserves, reserved and protected forests, conservation and community reserves, communal forests, private protected areas and conservation areas.

What are the different types of protected areas?


  • Category Ia: Strict Nature Reserve.
  • Category Ib: Wilderness Area.
  • Category II: National Park.
  • Category III: Natural Monument or Feature.
  • Category IV: Habitat/Species Management Area.
  • Category V: Protected Landscape/Seascape.
  • Category VI: Protected area with sustainable use of natural resources.

What is protected area describe the protected area of India for wildlife?

Details of the Protected Areas (PA) of India (As of July, 2016)

Type of PAs Number Area (km2)
Wildlife sanctuaries 537 118005.30
Conservation reserves 67 2349.38
Community reserves 26 46.93
Protected areas 733 160901.74

What is a conservancy area?

b : an organization or area designated to conserve and protect natural resources.

How can we preserve wildlife?

Always carry adequate water in a non-plastic container and use bio-degradable materials while visiting Protected Areas (PA). Keep seated in your vehicle during the visit to the wildlife parks and remain calm and composed even when you sight wildlife. Maintain silence so as not to disturb them.

What is the importance of conservation areas?

Effectively managed protected areas are a critical tool for safeguarding biodiversity, maintaining ecosystem balance, preserving important habitats, building resilience to climate change, providing global food security, maintaining water quality, conserving natural resources, driving economic success, curbing the …

What is protected land called?

A protected land area is an area designated as important and protected because of its biological diversity and natural or cultural resources. The level of protection varies. Examples of protected land areas include nature reserves, wilderness areas, national parks, and natural monuments.

How are conservation areas protected?

Conservation areas are protected by law due to their special or historic architectural character and appearance. It’s our role to ensure that character and appearance of conservation areas is preserved and enhanced though the planning process. There are 48 conservation areas located across the borough.

What is a nature conservation area?

The purpose of nature conservation areas is to safeguard the biodiversity of species and habitats. Nature conservation areas also contribute to the preservation of national landscapes, cultural heritage and recreation and hiking areas.

How many protected area are present in India?

India has a network of 987 Protected Areas including 106 National Parks, 564 Wildlife Sanctuaries, 99 Conservation Reserves and 218 Community Reserves covering a total of 1,73,053.69 km2 of geographical area of the country which is approximately 5.26%.