What happens if you steal from Walmart and get caught?
Although the store could drop petty theft charges, Walmart doesn’t budge. Most people, especially first-time offenders, are then sentenced to probation and have to pay fines. However, you can go to jail up to a year for petty theft. Petty theft charges also show up on background check.
What happens if you get caught stealing in Florida?
Offenders may be charged with a misdemeanor or felony. Penalties for petit theft could include fines up to $400, imprisonment or both. The maximum sentence that can be given is 16 months’ jail time, which is usually only given to repeat offenders. When the merchandise is greater than $400, it is considered grand theft.
Does Walmart keep track of theft?
Walmart tracks shoplifters by using Loss Prevention Associates, surveillance cameras, and security scanners at the doors as of 2022. Walmart also uses cameras at self-checkouts AI technology to recognize if an item has not been scanned before being placed in the bag.
Does Walmart prosecute all shoplifters?
Walmart does build cases on shoplifters for any theft over $25 as of 2022. Walmart hires Loss Prevention Associates who profile and recognize repeat shoplifters. Footage from surveillance cameras is never deleted, and all transaction records are checked and filed.
How much do you have to steal from Walmart to go to jail?
If the value of the merchandise is $100 or more, or if it is less than $100 but you have a previous theft conviction, you could be convicted of a Class B or Class A misdemeanor or a felony and face possible jail time.
Can petty theft charges be dropped in Florida?
Yes, in some cases, petty theft charges can be dropped. Defendants can complete a pretrial diversion program, take a plea bargain that reduces the charges, or present prosecutors with exculpatory evidence. All of these strategies often require the legal advice and representation of a theft attorney.
How much can you steal without going to jail in Florida?
Petit Theft of the First Degree – If the stolen property was worth more than $100 but less than $300, the crime will be considered petit theft of the first degree. This is punishable as a first-degree misdemeanor. If convicted, a person can face up to one-year jail time and up to a $1,000 fine.
What happens when you get caught shoplifting for the first time in Florida?
You will be charged with petit theft in the first degree, which is punishable by up to one year in county jail, one year of probation, and/or a $1,000 fine. Florida law requires the suspension of your driver’s license for up to six months for a first offense, and up to one year for second or subsequent offenses.
How far back do Walmart security cameras go?
Walmart keeps security CCTV footage for an average of 6 months to 1 year in 2022, though this is dependent on the size and location of the store. In smaller Walmart stores, the retention period of security footage may be between 30 and 90 days.
How do I beat theft charge at Walmart?
If you complete the pretrial diversion program successfully, the theft charges against you will be dismissed entirely. Then, once two years have passed, you can request that the charges be expunged from your record.
Does Walmart keep footage?
Walmart keeps security CCTV footage for an average of 6 months to 1 year in 2022, though this is dependent on the size and location of the store. In smaller Walmart stores, the retention period of security footage may be between 30 and 90 days. To find out how to view security footage at Walmart, keep reading!