What is the penalty for a Class 6 felony in Virginia?
Class 6 felonies are the least serious felonies in Virginia. Like Class 5 felonies, Class 6 felonies are wobblers, punishable by: one to five years in prison (felony), or. up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500 (misdemeanor).
How much time does a Class 6 felony carry in Virginia?
(f) For Class 6 felonies, a term of imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than five years, or in the discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, confinement in jail for not more than 12 months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
Can a Class 6 felony be reduced to a misdemeanor in Virginia?
A Class 6 felony is the lowest category of felony and is one step up from a misdemeanor. In fact, both Class 6 and Class 5 felonies, after being reviewed by a judge or jury, may remain a felony or may be downgraded to a misdemeanor.
How long does a misdemeanor stay on your record in VA?
Again, criminal convictions – even for misdemeanors – stay on your record forever in Virginia.
Can a felon own a gun in Virginia?
It’s illegal for someone who has been convicted of a felony to possess a firearm in Virginia. Va. Code section 18.2-308.2 also makes it illegal for someone convicted of a felony to possess other kinds of weapons. The other weapons that you cannot possess are stun guns, ammunition, or any explosives.
Does Virginia have a 7 year rule?
The FCRA establishes a seven-year limitation for certain types of information, including some arrest records. CRAs cannot report arrest information for arrests that did not lead to convictions that are more than seven years old.
How much does it cost to get your record expunged in Virginia?
The fee for filing a proceeding is currently around $84 and the cost of serving the petition on the state is $12, for a total of $96. You should call the Circuit Court clerk’s office in your jurisdiction, before you go in, to find out the exact amount and whether they require cash or will accept a money order.
Can I get a misdemeanor expunged in Virginia?
Asking the court to seal your record: If you have misdemeanor—or felony—non-convictions on your record but do not meet the requirements above, you can petition for expungement under current law.
How do I reduce my sentence in Virginia?
Currently, Virginia inmates can shave time off of their sentences for certain behaviors. They can earn 4.5 days of freedom for every 30 days served, but there are stipulations. First, they must show that they follow prison rules and have a record of good behavior.