When was general election held in Sri Lanka?

When was general election held in Sri Lanka?

Parliamentary elections were held in Sri Lanka on 5 August 2020 to elect 225 members to Sri Lanka’s 16th Parliament. 16,263,885 people were eligible to vote in the election, 31.95% of whom were young voters.

How many MLA are there in Sri Lanka?

Of the 225 members, 196 are elected from 22 electoral districts, which are multi-member.

What are the types of elections in Sri Lanka?


  • Presidential Elections. (i) Not Less than one month and not more than two month before the expiry of the term of office (i.e 5 years) of the President in office or.
  • Parliamentary General Elections.
  • Provincial Councils Elections.
  • Local Authorities Elections.
  • Referendum.

How are elections held in Sri Lanka?

Elections in Sri Lanka gives information on election and election results in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka elects on national level a head of state – the president – and a legislature. Sri Lanka has a multi party system, with two dominant political parties. All elections are administered by the Election Commission of Sri Lanka.

Who was the first prime minister in Sri Lanka?

replacing the colonial post of Chief Secretary of Ceylon. The D. S. Senanayake, the leader of the newly formed United National Party became the first Prime Minister.

When was the 2015 election called?

October 19, 2015

Seats before 36 95
Seats won 184 44
Seat change 148 51
Popular vote 6,942,937 3,469,368
Percentage 39.47% 19.72%

What is national list in Sri Lanka?

A national list member of parliament (national list MP) is a nominated member of parliament who is appointed by a political party or an independent group to the Parliament of Sri Lanka.

How many election districts are there in Sri Lanka?

The country was divided into 22 electoral districts. 21 of the 22 electoral districts were conterminous with their namesake administrative district. The other electoral district – Vanni – consisted of the administrative districts of Mannar, Mullaitivu and Vavuniya.

What was the result of the 2015 Sri Lanka election?

Parliamentary elections were held in Sri Lanka on 17 August 2015, ten months ahead of schedule, to elect 225 members to Sri Lanka ‘s 15th Parliament. The United National Party (UNP) led United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG) won 106 seats, an increase of 46 since the 2010 election, but failed to secure a majority in Parliament.

How many polling stations were there in Sri Lanka in 2015?

The date of the election was set for 17 August 2015. 15,044,490 Sri Lankans were eligible to vote at the election. 12,314 polling stations and 1,600 counting centres were used. Nearly 200,000 state employees and over 70,000 police officers were deployed on election duties.

When will parliamentary elections be held in 2015?

Parliamentary elections will be held in April 2015 after the constitution has been amended. Independent commissions will be established to oversee the judiciary, police, elections department, Auditor-General’s Department and Attorney-General’s Department.

How many cases of election violations have there been in 2015?

The People’s Action for Free and Fair Elections (PAFFREL) recorded 730 cases of violations by 3 January 2015 including 197 incidents of violence. The Center for Monitoring Election Violence (CMEV) had recorded 420 incidents between 20 November 2014 and 5 January 2015.