What are the 3 official flags of Australia?

What are the 3 official flags of Australia?

There are three official flags in Australia. The 3 flags of Australia include the Australian National Flag, the Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag.

What does the Eureka flag Symbolise?

The Eureka Flag is historically significant as evidence of the growing movement agitating for fairness and universal democracy in 19th century Australia. The flag represents the oft mythologised notion of the Australian ‘fair go’ and the right of the individual over tyranny.

Why do boats have red Australian flags?

It is the Australian Red Ensign, commemorating Merchant Navy Day, an opportunity to remember the service and sacrifice of thousands of merchant mariners during wartime.

What is the true Australian flag?

The flag of Australia is based on the British Blue Ensign—a blue field with the Union Jack in the upper hoist quarter—augmented with a large white seven-pointed star (the Commonwealth Star) and a representation of the Southern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars (one small five-pointed star and four.

Is it illegal to fly the Australian flag upside down?

Flying the flag Do not fly the flag upside down, even as a signal of distress. Information on the protocols for displaying and folding the flag can be found in the Australian flags booklet, which is also available from your Federal Member of Parliament or Senator.

Who can fly the Australian Red Ensign?

Australian registered merchant ships
The Australian Red Ensign is an official flag of Australia and is proclaimed under the Flags Act 1953. The Australian Red Ensign is generally only flown at sea by Australian registered merchant ships or on land by organisations and individuals for ceremonial purposes such as Merchant Navy Day.

What happened on December 3rd 1854?

Eureka Stockade, rebellion (December 3, 1854) in which gold prospectors in Ballarat, Victoria, Australia—who sought various reforms, notably the abolition of mining licenses—clashed with government forces. It was named for the rebels’ hastily constructed fortification in the Eureka goldfield.

Can any boat fly the Red Ensign?

Who is entitled to fly the Red Ensign? Any vessel registered in the UK, a Crown Dependency (CD) or an Overseas Territory (OT), is defined as a British ship and is allowed to fly the British Merchant Shipping flag the ‘Red Ensign.

Where is the Eureka Flag now?

the Art Gallery of Ballarat
The flag is on public view at the Eureka Centre in Ballarat, on long-term loan from the Art Gallery of Ballarat.

Why does Australian flag have 6 stars?

The Stars. The Commonwealth Star is the emblem of Australian Federation. Six points represent the states and the seventh all the federal territories which together constitute the nation, the Commonwealth of Australia.